Feeling Melancholic

I have always liked this song. Recently, I found out that it was created by a great Albanian musician, Neco Muka, because of the most gorgeous Albanian soprano, Tefta Tashko Koco, who he was in love with at the time.

I always thought it was a folk song created by a lovelorn villager for a great unknown village beauty. I am amazed how it has lost its history and has become one with the rest of Albanian treasures. The biggest compliment of all.

Loosely translated…Suggestions appreciated.

 

My freckled viper, my freckled asp

I try to sing but my throat is shut
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

Oh how long by the seaport I sat
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

I waited for you, and for you I sat
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

I had to go, as you did not show up
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

I can’t tell you how I spent that night
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

Or how through that day I sat
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

I cried and wiped my tears like that
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

Wipe your tears, my star my light
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

All this crying will hurt your sight
My freckled viper, my freckled asp

 

Moj neperka pika=pika

Leave a Reply

