Blues

Once there was a beautiful cabbage

Grew big in the garden of my neighbor

Superior to all flowers in the nearby beds

It could even stare the plum trees down

Birds circled around every day

Mesmerized, not even remembering to peck

Thankful to be allowed the sight of the glowing cabbage

The ground was proud too

For its juices had fed a miracle

Once there was a beautiful cabbage

Which became a perfect dinner

For a guest who never showed up

Two days passed,

The smell was horrible yes.

But the garbage pail carefully embraced the remains

And both lived happily ever after.

I still look at the empty chair.

7 thoughts on “Blues

  1. This is my version of the blues, honeybee!


    The next woman I get
    She gotta have a job
    I’m not trying to be no pimp
    I just don’t intend to work too hard

    I won’t have to buy the groceries
    She gotta pay the rent
    She gotta fill up my car every day
    And give me an account
    Of every dime she spend

    I made up my mind
    If this is the way life has gotta be
    I’m gonna do the same thing
    The same thing they been doing to me

    She gotta make me think she love me
    By staying in her place
    And sleep in another room
    So she won’t be snoring in my face

    And when I ask her for some money
    To go out on the town
    I want you to hand it to me smiling
    And don’t you act no clown

    I made up my mind, baby
    If this is the way life has gotta be
    Yes, I’m gonna do the same thing
    The same thing they been doing to me

    Now when I ask for some money
    To go out on the town
    I want you to hand it to me smiling
    And don’t you be no clown

    Now that might sound cold to you, baby
    You might think I’m unfair
    But I’ve been hurt so many times
    Till I, I really don’t care

    I made up my mind, baby
    If this is the way life has gotta be
    I’m gonna do the same thing
    The same thing they been doing to me

    by B.B. King

  2. aww, come on it can’t be that bad.

    when you get down to it
    life ain’t that bad
    shell some money daddy
    and you’ll be all set

    to look as good as me
    a girl gotta be fed
    shell some money daddy
    you’ll see what you’ll get

    dont’ ask how do i do to
    raise your from the dead
    shell some money daddy
    i am worth all that

    Treat you like i been treated
    you can’t afford all that
    shell some money daddy
    the best ain’t come yet

    Of course Billie Holiday would have really sung this much better.

Leave a Reply

