Why can’t we be friends?

Why can’t we indeed. Let’s put our heads together on this.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that I am trying to be friends with my crush, and he knows how I feel. Actually everybody knows it, even the gay hairdresser who does not understand Albanian. He is trying to be nice and I am trying to restrain from jumping him in the cafe. That is why our meetings make for very interesting reality TV.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that I am trying to break off a one-night stand that stretched into the span of several months. Apparently, I am not doing a very good job explaining to the want-to-be friends party that the conversation is just not that interesting.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that the man who bought me coffee is M(arried). Having a conversation with this gorgeous specimen of Middle Age Albania was not very easy. I mean, if you had in front of you a lot of gray hair surrounding a tanned face, deep black eyes and an easy and relaxed smile, what would you do? Yes, I am ashamed to say, I drowned the lust with coffee and chocolate mousse, so that I could at least pretend I was wired by the caffeine and not by that breathtaking giant with a 4 X 4 vehicle. That was that.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that I asked this question after a puzzling relationship with a yellow eyed devil who said yes. The eyes should have been a clue. Never trust a man with eyes the color of stagnant water. Anyway, I was just trying to recapture something that had never really existed, and he was hitting on my friends. It was a done-for story trying to be friends with an inferiority complex. So I really had no words for when he wanted the “friendship” rekindled.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that my current date is the kind “I can take home to mama” but I do not want to. She probably has the caterer and the printing company on standby, just in case I bring somebody like him home and then do not snare him. Small things like compatibility does not make my mother’s list of refused candidates. So, when he asks me why can’t we remain friends at least, I have no answer. I just make another date.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that I am not relaxed around people. I always look at them with suspicion on the kindness or interest they show, because surely enough, a motive surfaces sooner or later. Which pacifies me. Just don’t ask about why we can not be friends.

15 thoughts on “Why can’t we be friends?

  1. I humiliatingly failed to make out how many are the ones you are talking about. I know it is my fault, but if you would like to exercise some cheap and repayable mercy and reveal to me the the offensive (regarding my failure) number, I would significantly appreciate it.

  2. just wait to be one yourself, if you are lucky enough…though I thought, because of the uppercase first letters, that the “look” was more evocative of Mois Golemi, Gjergj Arianiti and Gjon Muzaka, or at least some russian actors or Serbian Chetniks ( as we can’t possibly know for real how they were except imagining them, helped profusely by mythological movies and documentaries on variable massacres) than just and simply that of a successful emigrant in his precociously late forties. This will be the second question for Bletë, while wishing her the best.

  3. Bletë,

    fillimi është shumë interesant po diku nga mesi unë e humba fillin e historisë. Anglishtja ime nuk është në nivelin e tëndes sigurisht por nuk mora vesh pse më humbi filli kaq keq…. hmmm mund dhe të jem përkeqësuar gjuhësisht së fundmi…damn

  4. I love the way you describe the interesting moods a person has while falling (or maybe not being sure if falling) for somebody ..

  5. Apparently middle-aged men(with that look of “wisdom” that young women read as : I am bored with my wife, save me ) are very desirable parti cularly when married.

  6. d. it is meant to be confusing, because I am confused too. Sorry if it puzzzled you. but so as not to leave you in the lurch, we are talking about five. each maybe paragraph (except the last one) tries to describe the people who prompted or asked the question.

  7. middle aged men can be very very attractive, and (almost all I have met) are bored with their wives. but there are some rules that i never break, and i am a master at removing temptation and saving their souls (at least as when i am concerned) . what happens inside me? well that is another story.

  8. the middle aged one looks very good. It might have something to do with a mythological figure, maybe Baccus. I am a sucker for good looking people especially men, and it kind of eradicates their age as well.

  9. I don`t think they`re bored at their wives, they`re simply bored and eternal teenagers; then it is such a good hook.
    They will also get bored with the woman to whom they`re complaining about their boring wives.
    I have a feeling the only soul you are saving is yours, they will get their toy somewhere else.
    I truly hope that you find what you`re looking for and live happily after on!

  10. yeah, strange innit? women invented the “friends” concept only to discover they had made a monster.
    Naida, thanks for the good wishes. from your pen to the eyes of God.
    Kreshnik, thank you for the site. interesting.

Leave a Reply

