Find the Author

This is one of my follies that happens when i have too much time on my hands. Find the author!
O ye Albanian mountains and you tall oaks!
Vast fields of bloom that my mind always evokes
you beautiful hillocks and rivers so clean!
Peaks, hills, cliffs and forests most green!
I will sing of the sheep that you keep and breed,
O blessed natives, my mind you own complete
Albania, you call me your own, and give me my pride,
and full of fire and passion you once forged my heart
O mother Albania, I know we are too far apart,
But the yearn for your love still burns in my heart.
On its mother’s call, how the lamb leaves its herd,
Bleats and runs with its hooves not touching earth,
Even if twenty or thirty people try to cut its way,
Scare it back, it’d never, but run through like light o’day,
The same way my hearts abandons me here,
Runs full of love towards your lands most dear.
Where cold streams run and breezes play in summer
where beautiful, fragrant, and smiling blooms the flower,
where the shepherd plays and the sheep the grass graze,
where the billygoat rests that’s where my mind too rests.
There, the sun wakes up smiling and the moon of joy shines,
prosperity and fortune have made that land their shrine
The night is different there and the day a different day
In those deep green forests where gods love to stay.
Mind! Take to the hills and fields, and run from the city,
leave the stress, the gossip, the grimy and the gritty.
Where the quail chirps with joy and canaries tweet,
The cuckoo laughs merrily, the nightingale sings sweet.
As the rose burst in bloom, that’s where I want to be
to sing my heart out with the birds on the tree
To see the ewes, lambs, rams, the goats and the kids
the breathtaking sky, the flowers, the light the land lit.

5 thoughts on “Find the Author

  1. O ye Albanian mountains and you tall oaks!
    Vast fields of bloom that my mind always evokes
    you beautiful hillocks and rivers so clean!
    Peaks, hills, cliffs and forests most green!

    hey not bad at all!

Leave a Reply

